Nursing: Health Statistics

Provides hospital utilization data in the US.

Comparative data for hospitals, from Medicare claims data, cost reports, and other.

Survey tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Prevelance Trends, GIS data, Chronic Disease Indicators.

Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more. Export data: tab-delimited text file.

Find links here to statistics, trends, reports and data related to Medicare and Medicaid services, such as actuarial studies, a Medicare Health Outcomes survey, Medicare enrollment reports, and public quality indicator and resident reports.

Comprised of health studies of Dept. of Energy contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities. These studies primarily use death certificate information to identify excess deaths and patterns of disease among workers to determine what factors contribute to the risk of developing cancer and other illnesses. In addition, many of these studies have radiation exposure measurements on individual workers.

A data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data. You can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets and then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

Quick access to public health statistics organized alphabetically. Includes links to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Online query system based on data from AHRQ's Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project. It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization at the national, regional, and State level.You can generate tables and graphs.

Includes pre-tabulated national, state, and local health indicators, reflecting multiple dimensions of population health, health care, and health determinants. The HIW also contains supporting descriptive data to facilitate understanding and appropriate use of the indicators, as well as links to evidence-based interventions. The Warehouse may be searched by topic, geography, or initiative..

HRMS is a survey of the nonelderly population that monitors the Affordable Care Act (ACA) before data from federal government surveys are available. Website include data briefs, survey instruments, and public use data files.

From the National Center for Health Statistics, CDC. 
An annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: A chartbook containing text and figures that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans; and a trend tables section that contains detailed data tables. Prior editions back to 1975 are also available online.

The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. On this site you can examine state and county topics for individual census years and over time, you can also generate maps of selected data.

Provides data on the number and rates of injury and illnesses by industry, details on the injured worker, nature of the disabling condition, and the event resulting in the disabling condition, and details on fatal incidents.

Eligibility, enrollment, program, utilization and expenditure data for the Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

Data about students’ smoking habits, contraception use, mental health issues, relationship difficulties, sexual behaviors, exercise habits, preventive health practices, and perceptions of drug and alcohol use, and more.

The NLS, sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, are nationally representative surveys that follow the same sample of individuals from specific birth cohorts over time. The surveys collect data on labor market activity, schooling, sexual activity & fertility, program participation, health, crime, and much more. Raw datasets available.

National Center for Health Statistics provides researchers with important health data through specialized data access tools and resources, including microdata, tables, and reports.

Broad coverage of statistics, including nursing home data, worker's comp, and medicare spending.

SMART Dashboard is a Geo-Targeted search tool for Twitter messages to monitor the diffusion of information and social behavior changes. So far, they cover the following topics: Flu, HIV, vaccine exemptions, CA wildfires, and Ebola.

Publications, software, maps, and data sets are available. QuickFactswill get state, county, and city demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income, residence, education), business information, and much more. There are many tools that let you focus in on specific locations and data points.