Kalamazoo Valley Home
Library Home
Library Search
Use truncation (*) to find word variants. Adolescen* retrieves adolescent, adolescents, adolescence.
Use quotation marks (" ") around phrases to search for exact phrases.
Example: "Mechanical Ventilation"
The following are some suggested subject terms to use when searching:
Airway
Artificial Respiration
Asthma
Breathing
Breathing Apparatus
Breathing Disorders
Bronchitis
Cardiopulmonary Disease
Cardiopulmonary System
Cystic Fibrosis
Diagnosis
Disease
Emphysema
Evidence-Based
Heart Disease
Healthcare or Health Care
History Taking
Infectious Disease
Lung Cancer
Mechanical Ventilation
Pathology
Pathophysiology
Pneumonia
Pulmonary Diseases
Respiration
Respiratory Ailments
Respiratory Care
Respiratory Diseases
Respiratory Organs
Respiratory Physiology
Respiratory System
Respiratory Tract Disease.
Public Health
CINAHL Authoritative journals for nursing and allied health professionals.
Films On Demand - Nursing Streaming videos of patient care and related topics
MedlinePlus National Library of Medicine. National Institute of Health (NIH) resources.
ProQuest Central Nursing and Allied Health Source 850+ journals plus dissertations representing rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
PubMed Central PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Salem Press Health Provides general readers with authoritative reference sources to bridge the gap between medical practitioner technical sources and popular self-help guides.
Science.gov Science.gov searches databases and websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
ScienceDirect -- Health & Life Sciences 1000+ health and life science journals.
SMART imagebase: Scientific & Medical ART 20,000+ illustrations & animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology.
What is a scholarly journal?
Answer: A journal that has been created by academic authors and includes original quantitative and/or qualitative research and theoretical content.
Examples
What is a trade journal?
Answer: A journal that was created for professionals. The articles address professional or work-related issues and help practicioners by summarizing research for best practices.
Examples:
|
Scholarly Journals |
Popular Magazines |
|
Articles always have bibliographies and end/footnotes. |
Articles lack bibliographies or references. |
|
Authors are always named, and their institutional affiliation is given. |
Authors may be anonymous. |
|
Articles may be peer-reviewed or refereed. |
Articles are not peer-reviewed. |
|
Target audience is academic or professional. |
Target audience is the general public. |
|
Journal title may include terms such as "journal," "review," or "bulletin" - but not always! |
Magazine title doesn't usually include terms like "journal," "review," or "bulletin." Notable exceptions includeThe Wall Street Journal and Ladies' Home Journal--these are NOT scholarly. |
|
Journal covers and pages tend to be plain in design. Some scholarly or professional journals contain advertisements (like JAMA), so identify the target audience to make your final determination. |
Magazines tend to include advertisements, graphics, color photos, etc. |
|
Issues tend to be successively numbered, with the page numbering of each issue beginning where the previous issue ended. |
Each issue generally begins with page 1. |
|
Articles tend to be longer. |
Articles tend to be shorter, some only 1-2 pages. |
|
Issues tend to be published less often (monthly, quarterly, semi-annually). |
Issues tend to be published more frequently (monthly, weekly, daily). |
Respiratory Therapy journals.
AARC Times from American Association of Respiratory Care
Membership required to access online, KVCC TTC Library owns past 5 years in hard copy.
Circulation (American Heart Association)
Some articles are free to the general public
Respiratory Care- The Science Journal of the American Association for Respiratory Care
Back issues of Respiratory Care archived online. KVCC TTC Library owns in hard copy back to 1983.
Also available via KVCC databases to 2007 via: Academic Onefile, Health Reference Center Academic, Nursing & Allied Health Collection, and Nursing Resource Center.
Available online 4 yrs after initial 1 yr embargo.
02/01/1995-07/31/2007 in Academic OneFile
Primary Care Respiratory Journal (now called "Primary Care Respiratory Medicine")
1997 - 2014 archive is available with 2015+ articles at the new site.
Also available via KVCC Libraries from 2014 + in ProQuest Central
RT: for Decision Makers in Respiratory Care
Also available via KVCC Libraries from 2006 + via Academic Onefile
Approximately 50 articles from 2012 to the present