Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Logo Kalamazoo Valley Home Library Home Library Search

BUS 101 Business Principles/Practices: Stock Market: Help With Stocks

Resources available to help complete the Stock Market Project for BUS 101

Hoover's

Get Company overview, history, financials & more in ProQuest's

Hoover's Company Profiles.

  • Go to Advanced Search & type in Apple
  • Select Company/org-ORG from the dropdown over to the right
  • Hit Search
  • Click on Apple Inc.
  • Hoover's company profile opens

More Company Info

You can search a new business database called ABI/INFORM

ABI/INFORM contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news.  ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times and is widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses.  Besides providing coverage of emerging issues in the marketplace, ABI/INFORM also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.

Use ABI/INFORM to help you:   

·         Locate company research, including company profiles and annual reports

·         Find market research, including industry, market, and commodity reports

·         Discover current business and economic conditions around the world

·         Identify management techniques and corporate strategies

·         Find ideas on implementing new procedures

·         Predict the success or failure of a planned program

Stock Market Table Collection at the TTC Library

Stock Market Table at TTCBooks
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Hoover's Handbook of World Business

Motley Fool Investment Guide
Good Stocks Cheap
Stock Trader's Almanac
Big Money Thinks Small
Mergent's Handbook of Common Stocks
Mergent's Handbook of Dividend Achievers
Mergent's Handbook of NASDAQ Stocks

100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2018
Stock Investing for Dummies
Penny Stocks for Dummies
Small Stocks, Big Money
Value Line

 

Newspapers:   Investor's Business Daily & Wall Street Journal
Periodicals:  Fortune, Kiplinger's, & Inc.                                                                                                                                                                                 
Now available only online in ProQuest
Barron's

Free Handouts
Hoover's Company Profiles
Stock Market Project
Yahoo! Finance
Finding BUSINESS articles in our databases
Finding Articles (Reasons) for Stocks

Making a Table in Microsoft Word

Find Articles

Find journal articles to back up your stock selections.

Business Databases

 Try ProQuest

  • On the Basic Search page click on Business Market Research Collection; Search "insider trading", full text; or search by a company name.
  • Search by company/organization in the Advanced Search options.
  • Search by NAICS codes under Advanced Search options.

                   These 2 are examples of articles about companies (latest news),
but can be 2-4 weeks old.

Subject Guide

Books on Financial Planning & Investing


Look in the General Collection in HG 179.

You can check these books out with your KVCC ID!

Wall Street Journal


To find closing prices, check with the librarian to see print back issues of the Wall Street Journal.

ProQuest now has the Wall Street Journal online from 1984 to the present. You may find news articles on your company here.

Business Databases

Details on how to search the Business Databases are included in the attached document.